Why You Need a Colorado Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
Domestic violence in the state of Colorado is not taken lightly and it is criminally charged as an enhancement to another crime such as assault, stalking, or child abuse. Under Colorado Statute, domestic violence is defined as “an act or threatened act of violence upon a person with whom the actor is or has been involved in an intimate relationship.” The charge can also apply to a broad range of acts, as we will explore below.
A domestic violence enhancement can lead to significantly more serious penalties which negatively impact a variety of aspects of life, including child custody. It is important to effectively combat the charges against you to avoid the negative repercussions of a domestic violence charge on your record. A Colorado domestic violence defense lawyer from Rodemer | Kane is available to advocate on your behalf for the best possible outcome in your case.
Colorado Domestic Violence Enhancement Crimes
There are 10 crimes that often include domestic violence enhancement:
- Assault – CRS 18-3-202-204
- Stalking a.k.a. “Vonnie’s Law” – CRS 18-3-602
- Menacing – CRS 18-3-2-6
- Harassment – CRS 18-9-111
- Child abuse – CRS 18-6-401
- Sexual contact – CRS 18-3-404
- Elder abuse – CRS 18-6.5-103
- False imprisonment – CRS 18-3-303
- Violating a restraining order – CRS 18-6-803.5
- Sexual assault – CRS 18-3-402
While this list includes the 10 most common crimes that have the domestic violence enhancement, it can apply to any criminal charge or municipal ordinance violation insofar as the district attorney’s office seeks to extend the charge. Determining whether the elements of the crime/s alleged against you meet the requirements for a domestic violence enhancement can substantially impact the outcome of your case.
Domestic Violence Penalties
The importance of aligning effective and experienced legal aid to challenge the domestic violence charges against you is underlined by the significant penalties that you could face.
The punishment that you will receive for the domestic violence enhancement will depend upon the underlying charge upon which it is based. Initial charges of domestic violence may lead to a compulsory domestic violence treatment program. Restraining orders may be issued which limit your ability to contact the filing individual.
A fourth conviction involving domestic violence enhancements leads to an individual being labeled as a habitual domestic violence offender which is a class 5 felony that results in:
- One to three years in a Colorado State Prison
- A mandatory period of two years of parole following imprisonment, and/or
- A fine of $1,000 to $100,000
Domestic violence charges can lead to permanent impacts on your life and must be effectively challenged to achieve the best outcome in your case.
Connect with the Rodemer | Kane for Help with Your Domestic Violence Charges
For your initial case review to determine how we can help with your domestic violence charges, visit our website to schedule a consultation.